What I’ve been up to….

Well it’s been a while since I’ve updated this, been busy being a scumbag and what not. In reality work and school have both been insane lately, so I’ve just had my head down trying to get by. I have been scooping up some cool parts though. Picked up a 6 pt cusco cage. I am planning to have a harness bar welded on to this so that one day I can run a harness without worrying about destroying my back should I feel the need to run one. Then I will have the powdercoated gloss black (it’s currently “cusco blue”). I also picked up some Project Mu Club Racer rotors from Russell at Nissanparts.cc. They really are pretty cheap for PMu parts. Those should be here around the middle of November hopefully. The last thing I got recently was a Tomei short shifter. It was between that and a Nismo Solid Shifter but the coolness/rareness of the Tomei just won over.

Anyway, the only work I’ve done recently to the car is to start tearing down my spare subframe to have it powdercoated. It came with all the stock arms that have never been removed so I’ve been breaking those loose with a 1/2 inch breaker bar and a hammer over the last few days. Here are some pictures of the progress:

Here is where I started:

This has got to be one of the few subframes left with intact bushings. I’ll be burning these out and replacing with polyurethane

Here is where I called it a night after I hurt my back after trying to remove the inner upper control arm bolts. Those eceentric washers are the spawn of satan.

Traction arms off brakes off, and pretty much one of the 2 bolts on each arm has been broken loose. Doesn’t look like much but it took a little while. These things took some elbow grease to get out. I need to track down a socket to remove the axles next. The CV boots are in good shape so I’ll refinish the axle shafts probably and then use those.

One last little thing I did was to replace the clips on my door sill plates. Some were missing, some were nasty. It just bugged me, so I picked up some new ones from Nissan.

Before:

After:

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “What I’ve been up to….”

  1. Terrell says :

    Good stuff! Yeah, I remember when I pulled my subframe to do the PBM risers, and get everything nice clean and painted. It’s one of those things where you start to wonder why you’re doing it in the first place. But, in the end it pays off. ^_^

    Also, I feel your pain with those trim clip things. It drives me nuts when I see cars with those missing. lol I hate when they don’t work anymore and the plastic screw doesn’t come up very easily.

  2. zinounobaid says :

    Hey kyle looks really good, nice job was wondering where did you buy your rps13?

    Thanks

  3. titopr06 says :

    hey kyle,
    update this thing, we all know you have been up to some sick stuff!

  4. Kyle Smith says :

    zinounobaid :

    Thanks Kyle, was it legit RPS13 or 240sx with s13 lighting or was it an imported S13 or whats up ??

    It’s a USDM 240SX with kouki 180 everything.

Leave a Reply

